Skip to Content
Poster for All the President’s Men (1976) (35mm)
Watch trailer for All the President’s Men (1976) Watch trailer

All the President’s Men (1976)

Dates with showtimes for All the President's Men (1976)
  • Thu, Jan 26
  1. 7:00 pm 35mm

Thu, Jan 26 @ 7:00 pm: Presented in 35mm.

Director: Alan J. Pakula Run Time: 138 min. Rating: PG Release Year: 1976

Starring: Dustin Hoffman, Hal Holbrook, Jason Robards, Ned Beatty, Robert Redford

Country: United States
Language: English

Broadcast News: Journalism on Film at Gateway Film Center

In partnership with Columbus Underground, a seasonal series examining the state of journalism. Reception begins at 6:00pm, followed by a panel discussion on Journalistic Integrity in 2023 at 7:00pm and 35mm presentation at 7:45pm.

Panelists include Walker Evans (Columbus Underground), Michael Ouimette (American Journalism Project), and Susan Tebben (Ohio Capital Journal).

Learn more about the series here.

About the film:

Two journalists investigate a routine break-in at the Democratic Party Headquarters at the Watergate Building and happen upon the story of the century.

“remarkably intelligent, working both as an effective thriller… and as a virtually abstract charting of the dark corridors of corruption and power”

Time Out

Winner of four Academy Awards in 1977 and selected for preservation in the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress in 2010. Based on the memoir by Washington Post reporters Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein about political dirty tricks in the nation’s capital, All the President’s Men is a rare example of a best-selling book that was transformed into a hit theatrical film and a cultural phenomenon in its own right.

About the panel:

Walker Evans, Columbus Underground

Walker is the co-founder of Columbus Underground and The Metropreneur along with his wife and business partner Anne Evans. Walker has turned local media into a full time career over the past decade and serves on multiple boards and committees throughout the community.


Susan Tebben, Ohio Capital Journal

Susan Tebben is an award-winning journalist with a decade of experience covering Ohio news, including courts and crime, Appalachian social issues, government, education, diversity and culture. She has worked for The Newark Advocate, The Glasgow (KY) Daily Times, The Athens Messenger, and WOUB Public Media. She has also had work featured on National Public Radio.


Michael Ouimette, American Journalism Project

Michael leads the Strategy & Startups team at the American Journalism Project, overseeing Local Philanthropic Partnerships, Startup Incubations, and grantmaking strategy. Michael previously led the domestic direct-to-consumer businesses at VICE Media. Michael serves on the board of the Ohio Local News Initiative, The Beacon, Columbia Daily Spectator and as a Success Partner to Capital B, Cityside, Connecticut Mirror, Montana Free Press, Mountain State Spotlight, and WyoFile.


Moderated by George Wolf,

George Wolf, an Ohio State University grad, is co-founder of MaddWolf Productions, an independent group invested in cinematic storytelling. He is co-founder and writer for maddwolf as well as an on-air personality, voiceover artist, production and program director, and film critic for the Columbus Radio Group (Sunny 95, Rewind 103.5/104.3, Mix 107.9, and QFM96) as well as film critic for Saga Communications radio.


About the filmmakers:

Along with a Best Director nomination for All the President’s Men, director Alan J. Pakula received nominations for Best Picture for To Kill A Mockingbird (1962) and Best Writing for Sophie’s Choice (1982). Screenwriter William Goldman earned Academy Awards for All the President’s Men and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969). His other critically acclaimed films include Marathon Man (1976), The Princess Bride (1987), and Misery (1990).

Actor, writer, and producer Robert Redford originally bought the rights to the Woodward-Bernstein memoir and brought Pakula and Goldman into the project. Redford is the founder of the Sundance Institute and received the Academy Award for Lifetime Achievement in 2002.

See our upcoming films
Ohio Arts Council
Greater Columbus Arts Council
The Columbus Foundation
Campus Partners
National Endowment for the Arts
CD 92.9 FM
G&J Pepsi
WOSU Public Media


powered by Filmbot