Skip to Content
Poster for The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
Watch trailer for The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) Watch trailer

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

Opens on October 16

Director: Henry Selick Run Time: 76 min. Rating: PG Release Year: 1993

Starring: Catherine O'Hara, Chris Sarandon, Danny Elfman, Glenn Shadix, William Hickey

“Dazzling mix of fun and fright”

– Peter Travers, Rolling Stone

About the film:

The animated dark fantasy musical The Nightmare Before Christmas was the first full-length, stop-motion feature from a major American studio. Animation took about eighteen months to complete with over 100 crew members and animators averaging 60 seconds per week. Their dedication and skill earned the film an Academy Award nomination for Best Visual Effects.

Tired of scaring humans every year with the same old bag of tricks, Jack Skellington, the spindly Pumpkin King of Halloween Town, decides to take over Christmas. 

About the filmmakers:

Based on a poem from producer Tim Burton, with story adapted by his Beetlejuice (1988) collaborator, Michael McDowell, and screenplay written by Caroline Thompson, who also worked with Burton on Edward Scissorhands (1990) and Corpse Bride (2005)Burton’s team also included stop-motion veteran Henry Selick in his directorial debut before he helmed the Academy-Award nominated masterpieces James and the Giant Peach (1996) and Coraline (2009).  Another iconic partner on Burton’s films, the highly acclaimed composer Danny Elfman, provided the score and several voices in the film, including the singing voice of Jack.

See our upcoming films
Ohio Arts Council
Greater Columbus Arts Council
The Columbus Foundation
Campus Partners
G&J Pepsi
WOSU Public Media