Skip to Content
Poster for Fright Club Live: Hour of the Wolf (1968)
Watch trailer for Fright Club Live: Hour of the Wolf (1968) Watch trailer

Fright Club Live: Hour of the Wolf (1968)

Opens on August 11

Director: Ingmar Bergman Run Time: 90 min. Rating: NR Release Year: 1968

Starring: Erland Josephson, Georg Rydeberg, Gertrud Fridh, Liv Ullmann, Max von Sydow

Country: Sweden
Language: Swedish, German

Fright Club Live at Gateway Film Center

August 11, 2023 | Meet up with fellow horror movie lovers at 7:30PM and then join us at 9PM for the live recording of MaddWolf’s Fright Club podcast hosted by George Wolf and Hope Madden before the screening.

Get tickets See more Fright Club Live

About the film:

The strangest and most disturbing of the films Bergman shot on the island of Fårö, Hour of the Wolf (1968) stars Max von Sydow as a haunted painter living in voluntary exile with his wife (Liv Ullmann). When the couple are invited to a nearby castle for dinner, things start to go wrong with a vengeance, as a coven of sinister aristocrats hastens the artist’s psychological deterioration.

This gripping film is charged with a nightmarish power rare in the Bergman canon, and contains dreamlike effects that brilliantly underscore the tale’s horrific elements.

About the filmmaker:

Ingmar Bergman was a Swedish screenwriter and film and theatre director wisely considered one of the greatest and most influential filmmakers of all time. No name is more synonymous with the postwar explosion of international art-house cinema than this master storyteller, who startled the world with his stark intensity and naked pursuit of the most profound metaphysical and spiritual questions.

In a career that spanned six decades, Bergman directed dozens of films in an astonishing array of tones, ranging from comedies whose lightness and complexity belie their brooding hearts to groundbreaking formal experiments and excruciatingly intimate explorations of family relationships. Some of his most acclaimed works include The Seventh Seal (1957), Wild Strawberries (1957), Persona (1966), and his three Best Foreign Language Film Academy Award winners: The Virgin Spring (1960), Through a Glass Darkly (1961), and Fanny and Alexander (1982). He has been honored with numerous lifetime achievement awards, include the BAFTA Academy Fellowship in 1988, the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award at the 43rd Academy Awards, and the first ever “Palme des Palmes” at the 1997 Cannes Film Festival.

See our upcoming films
Ohio Arts Council
Greater Columbus Arts Council
The Columbus Foundation
Campus Partners
National Endowment for the Arts
CD 92.9 FM
G&J Pepsi
WOSU Public Media


powered by Filmbot